The 2015 iRAP Innovation Workshop

The United Nations has included a road safety target in the post-2015 Sustainable Development Goals.  Our challenge is to provide the catalyst and capacity to make the target of reducing road deaths to less than 600,000 per year by 2020 achievable.  We want to deliver a world free of high-risk roads – innovation, investment, scale and sharing of success will make this possible.  The 2015 iRAP Innovation Workshop was designed to meet these needs.

Attendees at the 2015 workshop included those professionals leading the way in saving lives on our roads and providing the financial, scientific, technical and engineering support to ensure that this happens – those from Multilateral Development Banks, road authorities, researchers and other stakeholders.  This meeting built on the successful meetings held at TRL in 2012, Washington DC in 2013 and Melbourne in 2014: see, and

Presentation titles and themes for the 2015 Workshop are below, together with links to slide presentations

For further information on iRAP and its work, please click here.


Gearing up for scale – Greg Smith, iRAP

3-star roads for Cambodia – Minister HE Tram Iv Tek, Cambodia

Mulitilateral Development Bank road safety guidelines and implementation plans – Hilda Gomez, CAF Banco de Desarrollo de América Latina

The World Bank and road safety policy leadership – Marc Shotten, The World Bank

Road safety and poverty reduction: a dual priority – Yohannes Abebe, Millennium Challenge Corporation



Breaking the deadlock: reducing the cost of road trauma with social impact investment – Jane Newman and Tom Davies, Social Finance Ltd, UK

Insurance investment in road safety: the Transport Accident Commission experience:  Samantha Cockfield, Transport Accident Commission and John Merritt, CEO VicRoads, Victoria, Australia

Road safety performance incentives: the Transmission Gulley Toll Road and State Highway Safety Alliance – Fergus Tate, New Zealand Transport Authority

Raising the stars: the impact investment opportunities – Rob McInerney, iRAP



The Highways England investment and casualty and performance targets — Dave Stones, Highways England

Dutch Star Rating Targets and Cycling Innovation – Peter van der Knaap, SWOV and Ferry Smith ANWB, Netherlands

The ADB STAR assessment –Tyrrell Duncan, Asian Development Bank

“Every Day Counts” – Federal Highway Administration initiative – Bruce Hamilton, usRAP/ Roadway Safety Foundation



Communicating success: sharing positive outcomes – Robert Staba, AMZS Slovenia

Corridor studies and their potential for casualty reduction: extending the benefits – Marcial Bustinduy, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

The latest iRAP tools and plans for the future – James Bradford, iRAP

Changes to the Star Rating on 45,000km of network in Mexico 2012-15 – Carlos Lopez, SEMIC Mexico

The China State Council-endorsed “Highway safety to cherish life” ChinaRAP initiative – Ronggui Zhou/Zhang Tiejun, Research Institute of Highway, China

Urban kiwiRAP Innovation across New Zealand – Fergus Tate, New Zealand Transport Agency

The SENSoR study and efficiencies of scale – Olivera Djordjevic/Steve Lawson, EuroRAP

Scaling up in the United States: Alabama and Utah – Doug Harwood, Midwest Research Institute, US

The AusRAP-ANRAM partnership and Australian policy targets – Dave Jones, AAA 

Road safety transformation: the Belize experience – Darren Divall, TRL, UK



The Global Road Safety Facility and Future Directions – Soames Job, World Bank

The PIARC Road Safety Manual – latest progress

The OECD Safe System Working Group – Veronique Feypell, OECD-ITF

Building and supporting a supplier network – Greg Smith (iRAP)/MDB staff




Mr Yohannes Abebe Director of Infrastructure Millennium Challenge Corporation, USA
HE Pen Boran Under Secretary of State of Ministry of Public Works and Transport Cambodia
HE Kim Borei Director General of Public Works and Transport Cambodia
Mr Milan Bozic Director AMSS-CMV, Serbia
Mr James Bradford Global Product Manager iRAP, UK
Mr Ferran Camps Deputy Director General Catalan Road Authority
Ms Samantha Cockfield Manager, Road Safety Transport Accident Commission, Victoria, Australia
Mr Tom Davies Analyst Social Finance, UK
Mr Darren Divall Principal consultant TRL (Transport Research Laboratory), UK
Ms Olivera Djordjevic Senior Project Manager EuroRAP, Serbia
Mr Luke Donnellan Road Safety Minister Victorian State Government
Mr Tyrrell Duncan Technical Advisor (Transport) Asian Development Bank, Philippines
Ms Marianne Dwarshuis Senior Public Affairs Adviser ANWB, Netherlands
Dr Harry Evdorides Lecturer and Course Director University of Birmingham, UK
Ms Veronique Feypell Coordinator ITF/OECD Safe System Working Group OECD, France
Dr John Fletcher Principal Road Safety Specialist TRL (Transport Research Laboratory), UK
Mr Xavier Flores Director General Catalan Road Authority
Mr Nikola Galovic Director, Road Safety AMSS-CMV, Serbia
Ms Hilda Gomez Executive Manager Road Safety CAF Banco de Desarrollo de América Latina
Mr Bruce Hamilton Director of Safety AAA Foundation, USA
Mr Doug Harwood Program Director MRI (Midwest Research Institute) Global, USA
HE Tram Iv Tek Minister of Public Works and Transport Cambodia
Dr Soames Job Program Coordinator World Bank, Global Road Safety Facility
Mr Dave Jones Representative of AAA AAA, Australia
Dr Steve Lawson Partnerships & Research Director iRAP, UK
Mr Richard Leonard Safer Roads Group Manager Highways England
Mr Gary Liddle iRAP Trustee iRAP/Department for Planning Transport & Local Infrastructure, Australia
Eng Carlos Lopez Director SEMIC, Mexico
Mr Rob McInerney Chief Executive Officer iRAP, Australia
Mr John Merritt CEO, VicRoads Australia
Ms Caroline Moore Senior Research Analyst EuroRAP, UK
Mr Raul Murrieta Cummings Transport and Communications Minister, Mexico Mexico
Ms Jane Newman International Director Social Finance, UK
Mr Agustin Oseguera SEMIC International Director Mexico
Mr Nataniel P . Borges Jr. Transportation and Logistics Laboratory Engineer LabTrans Federal University of Santa, Brazil
Mr Stuart Page Software Developer iRAP, UK
Dr Chika Sakashita Road Safety Consultant
Dr Marko Sevrovic Acting Head of Department FPZ, University of Zagreb
Mr Marc Shotten Senior Transport Specialist World Bank
Mr Greg Smith Regional Director, Asia Pacific iRAP, China
Mr Ferry Smith Public Affairs Director ANWB, Netherlands
Mr Robert Staba General Secretary AMZS, Slovenia
Dr Stephen Stacey Managing Director EuroRAP, UK
Mr David Stones Divisional Director Highways England
Mr Marcial Bustinduy Principal Environmental Specialist European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Dr Fergus Tate Road safety Leader New Zealand Transport Authority
Dr Zhang Tiejun Senior Road Safety Engineer Research Institute of Highway, China
Mr Julio Urzua Director, Latin America & Caribbean iRAP, Chile
Dr Peter van der Knaap Managing Director SWOV road safety research institute, Netherlands
Mr Han Wenyuan Deputy Director of Road Safety Research Centre Research Institute of Highway, China
Mr Ronggui Zhou Director Research Institute of Highway, China